Quick Posture Reset

The best way to avoid running injuries is to run with good posture. Proper posture can remedy a whole host of seemingly unrelated problems in the legs. If we are slightly off balance, we will place too much pressure on certain areas of the lower body with each step, leading to foot, knee and ankle pain.

A couple of years ago, I saw a short film called “On The Run” that was about the running scene in New Zealand in the 1970s. At one point a female runner warming up before a race holds her arms outstretched at her sides for a few moments. I don’t know what she believed the purpose of this was, but when I tried it, I noticed that it drew my spine and torso up into a more poised position and made me feel a little taller and more balanced. It seemed to instantly correct my posture.

I have found that to retain this posture while running, it helps to keep the face and eyes relaxed, dropping the gaze without dropping the head. As I’ve said in the past, we want to keep our head back a bit, balanced atop the spine. I have tried lowering my head to keep my gaze downward, but have found that this puts the weight of the head too far forward, eventually leading to problems. Again, the face and eyes should be relaxed, without letting the head drop.

Leave a Reply

