Final run of the week

Today I ran 7.5 miles at a pace of 7:33 min/mile. That makes about 42 miles this week. Now I have to take 3 days off because of work again. I wanted to make sure I got at least 40 miles in before my days off, because I’m running a half and full marathon in September.

Today’s run was in this little number:Image

As you can see, there is not much cushioning in this shoe. According to the maker, this shoe weighs less than 3 oz. All of my runs this week have been in minimally cushioned shoes like these. Actually, just about all of my running, all of the time, is in minimal shoes.

So how do I get away with running in footwear like this without hurting myself? Is it because I have naturally great biomechanics? No. After my first 3 5k races and first half marathon, my left ankle hurt all the time and was pretty messed up. I eventually figured out what the problem was and came up with a simple exercise that helps get the legs aligned properly and working more efficiently. My ankle pain disappeared quickly and never returned.

That will be the subject of my next post. It will require some more thought and perhaps I will have to make a video to go along with it. Until then, I want to stress again the importance of running within yourself with a poised, balanced posture. It was my primary thought during today’s run.

Leave a Reply

